UGC Declares 21 Universities As ‘Fake’. Most From Delhi Followed By Uttar Pradesh

New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) on Friday declared 21 universities as “fake” and said these institutions do not have the authority to award any degree. According to the UGC, these self-styled universities were found operating from Delhi, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, West Bengal, UP, Odisha, Puducherry and Andhra Pradesh, most of which are in the national capital followed by Uttar Pradesh.

“At least 21 self-styled, unrecognized institutions working in violation of the UGC Act have been declared as fake universities and do not have the right to confer any degree,” said UGC secretary Rajnish Jain.

According to the UGC, there are eight fake universities in Delhi – the All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences; Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj; United Nations University; vocational university; ADR-focused Judicial University; Indian Institute of Science and Engineering; Vishwakarma Open University and Spiritual University (Spiritual University) for self-employed.

According to the UGC, there are four such institutions in Uttar Pradesh – Gandhi Hindi Vidyapeeth, National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose University (Open University), Bharatiya Shiksha Parishad.

Other institutions are from Karnataka, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West Bengal and Kerala.

The statement issued by the UGC also mentions that when an educational institution is recognized as a university.

The statement said, “The power to confer or confer degrees shall be exercised only by a University established or incorporated as a University under a Central Act, a Provincial Act or a State Act or section 3 or an institution. specially empowered by an Act of Parliament to do or provide.”

“As provided in sub-section (1), no person or authority shall confer or dispense with or be entitled to grant or to grant or grant any degree to himself or herself…” it read. .

The statement further read, “Section 23 of the UGC Act prohibits the use of the word ‘University’ by any institution other than a University established as aforesaid.”

Education Loan Information:
Calculate Education Loan EMI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *